I echo the Apostle Paul’s sentiments toward the church he served, “I thank my God every time I remember you” (Philippians 1:3). As the first English Ministry pastor at TCBC from 1982-1986, I am grateful for the tremendous support by the leadership and congregation of the church. It was a joy to ministry with Rev. Andrew Wong and the other pastors. At one point there were four Rev. Wong’s!

I am especially grateful for the support of our family as we moved up from Texas. My wife and I drove up. Subsequently some big babies were born – Joshua was born in Texas weighing 10 pounds, 4 ounces. Tiffany was born 2 years later at 9 pounds, 2 ounces. Especially with no family in Canada, you became our family.

I am grateful for important lessons forged in ministry that influence my teaching and pastoring today. Those are lessons of serving God as we serve others. We can always learn from another. We accept others because Christ has accepted us (Romans 15:7).

I love the church’s anniversary theme, “Blessed to Bless.” That is certainly my experience. I was blessed with my first full-time ministry at the church. It was a great place to develop ministry skills. I can certainly bless others by teaching at Tyndale University College & Seminary and other churches and places.

Congratulations on our 50th church anniversary. May each of us experience the blessings so we can bless others.

